Friday, August 20, 2010

I Am Grateful For Science

Back in college, in PSY 101, i learned about the five stages of grieving.  I've been thinking on them a bit the last few days.  If you're not familiar, you can check them out here:

First is denial, the "This can't be happening" phase. 
Then comes anger:  "WHY?"
Next is bargaining:  "I'll do anything for this not to be happening."
Then depression:  "What's the point?"
And last, acceptance:  "Everything will be okay." 

Knowing that last stage will come, when we studyable humans reach that point of acceptance and know that everything will be okay, gives me comfort.  I've unconsciously done those five stages so many times in my life I could have been a case study for EKR herself.  And that's a good thing.  I like fitting into the human mold.  And I like the comfortable assurances of science.

0 holla'd back:

Post a Comment

Leave me some words!